Sunday Mornings

It feels like winter in Southern California. That is, this is the most wintery-winter I’ve ever experienced in LA. Plenty of rain and cool nights. It made me realize I’ve only ever lived in California during this several-years-long drought. I’m enjoying the rainy weather, mostly because I’m staying inside binging on hours of film submissions (and hot ginger tea).

Tomorrow I’m making my annual pilgrimage to the mountains of Utah, where there is real winter with snow and below freezing temperatures. Not my strong suit, but I’ll survive. With the aid of hot beverages and several cozy layers.

And now a few long reads and highlights from the world-wide web:

  • I’m team Moonlight. The background behind the story and the film is almost as beautiful as the film itself.
  • For those of you who can’t get enough of LA LA Land, you’ll enjoy this location map. Mia’s commute would suuuuck.
  • I’ve had “That Is Not What I Meant At All Face” on more than one occasion. And a few of the others, like “I Need a Cheeseburger and Possibly Two Face”.
  • Still missing Davie Bowie. A fun read: Stage Oddity: The Story of David Bowie’s Secret Final Project.
  • I’ve never been to Coachella, but I find the mix of money, politics and music fascinating. Waking Up to Coachella’s Conservative Tinge
  • And discuss: How Netflix is Deepening Our Cultural Echo Chambers
  • E and I went down memory lane recently and played The Oregon Trail while listening to ’90s music. Talk about a wild stay-at-home date night!
  • Mark your calendars: May 21. Guess this means we’ll be getting Showtime…
  • Most people have a general understanding of how a film is edited, but have you ever thought about an editor’s role on an animated film?
  • After attending advertising classes in SMU’s Temerlin Advertising Institute, I was fortunate to start my film programming career with the launch of the AFI Dallas International Film Festival (now known as Dallas International Film Festival). The festival came together in due part to the work of legendary Dallasite and the festival’s co-founder, Liener Temerlin. Thinking of those early days with his frequent office visits and a particular opening night when he walked to the back of the theater to discuss with the staff how to get a long-winded Mickey Rooney off the stage. Thanks for your leadership and civic service, Mr. Temerlin. Rest in peace.

I hope your Sunday is filled with something warm and bright. Be kind. Treat yourself. May be a rough week ahead.

