Festival Travels: Arthouse Convergence 2017

Today I am off to Utah for 10 long days of films, festing, meetings and screenings. The Sundance and Slamdance Film Festivals start later this week, but first I’ll be in Midway to attend the Art House Convergence and Film Festival Alliance conference. It’s my first time attending the conference and I’m not sure what to expect.

From what I’ve heard, this conference is informative and friendly. Seeing people at Sundance is always a hustle, but this conference is more relaxed. You’re not rushing to make a movie or navigating your way through a crowded party. There’s time to sit down, get to know people and chat. My hope is to make a few new connections and meet the folks I’ve only heard about by name or email address for years.

The conference schedule is full of different panels and I’m still debating on which ones to attend. One topic of interest to me is “Cultivating a younger audience”(aka how do you get 21-year-olds to buy tickets, engage in cinema and have them not snap chat in the theater the whole time?). This is something everyone struggles with. I hope the panelists share ideas that worked for them and don’t just complain about how it’s an issue (because that we already know about).

Last fall I volunteered with another attendee to curate the speakers on a panel called “Cultivating Your Lineup”. The discussion includes festival programmers and distributors who will share experiences about investing or supporting relationships and navigating the politics of programming. Relationships are a huge part of programming for festivals. People come in and out of different work circles and connect you with other artists all the time. As with most industries, your success is often dependent on your network. That network could also mean that films come across your path for political reasons and there’s a balance between what you want and what may help your organization for the future based on a certain connection. (This topic is a long one in and of itself. To be discussed!) I’m curious to hear what our panelists think.

My new business cards and snow boots are packed. Excited to let the cinema and logistics nerd in me come out to play and share ideas on the work of theaters and festivals. Some of those thoughts may appear here in the future, so stay tuned!

What panels do you think look the most interesting? Let me know if you think there’s one I should attend in particular. And how many days will it take before you think I’ll be tired of the snow?

