Shorts & Snacks: Mr. Madila (2015)

I’m in the weeds. Deadlines for programming one of the festivals I work for are looming. One day last week, I watched thirty shorts in one day. Not my best, but certainly no piece of cake either.

Which means, I’ll be keeping it fairly short here the next few weeks. Today, I need a spiritual time out. A cleansing of the mind and body. And what better way to do that than with a quick short+snack with Mr. Madila.

I discovered this clever and fun animated short last year while researching for a Denver program. Rory Waudby-Tolley successfully combines humor with cosmic insight. When feeling overwhelmed with life, this short is a good reminder that the universe is big. This short both grounds me and encourages me. And lets me laugh with ease – which is always helpful to reduce stress.

My go-to snack during these times is not always healthy. I reward myself with small treats when hitting certain goals (in the past, that’s been soda – Dr. Pepper to be specific) and lately it has been a bite of cookie dough. Yes, the baked chocolate chip cookies are tasty too, but sometimes the dough doesn’t make it to the oven.

What’s one of your self-care habits or edible treats when you’re stressed? I’d love to hear your thoughts. It will help me get over the finish line!

Mr Madila or The Colour of Nothing
Directed by Rory Waudby-Tolley

2015 / 9 min / UK 

Mr Madila or The Colour of Nothing documents a series of conversations between the film-maker and a gifted spiritual healer, exploring the inner mind, the fabric of the universe, and the nature of reality itself, through the sacred art of animation. Oooooooh.

